ArcEmu: How To Add Lua Scripts In Linux - ArcEmu

Jump to content

Toggle shoutbox Lastest Announcements

dfighter  : (07 December 2014 - 12:06 PM) Arcemu is in hibernation mode, please read http://arcemu.org/fo...showtopic=26903
dfighter  : (01 January 2013 - 05:56 PM) Arcemu wishes you all a happy new year!
Hasbro  : (12 September 2012 - 10:01 AM) Please excuse our outage from the web! Our web host had a major malfunction!
dfighter  : (01 September 2012 - 04:05 PM) Since the spam bots just don't want to stop, I've enabled admin verification when registering.
dfighter  : (23 January 2012 - 09:56 PM) Please note that from now on you will need to confirm your email on the wiki in order to edit it!
Hasbro  : (31 December 2011 - 12:50 PM) Happy New Years all!
Navid  : (26 December 2011 - 04:09 AM) Merry Christmas !!!!!! Happy holidays all :)
WAmadeus  : (24 December 2011 - 03:54 PM) Merry Christmas to all!
dfighter  : (24 December 2011 - 11:05 AM) The Arcemu team wishes y'all a Merry Christmukkah!
Hasbro  : (05 October 2011 - 12:53 PM) Looking for web designers for upcoming web related project. If you're interested in designing user interfaces contact me
dfighter  : (02 September 2011 - 03:47 PM) So who here wants vehicles in Arcemu? :P http://arcemu.org/fo...showtopic=25440
Hasbro  : (14 August 2011 - 03:25 PM) Join us on irc, grab an irc client and connect to irc.freenode.net join channel #arcemu /server irc.freenode.net:6667 /join #arcemu
jackpoz  : (03 August 2011 - 05:33 AM) to all Lua Engine (old one) users: please check http://arcemu.org/fo...showtopic=25274
Hasbro  : (20 May 2011 - 05:27 PM) Looking for people experienced with CMake configuration and setup! Contact me asap
Hasbro  : (15 May 2011 - 05:03 PM) ArcEmu is recruiting C++ programmers, contact Hasbro if interested.
paroxysm  : (03 May 2011 - 06:26 PM) Updated luabridge gossip example to describe the whole gossip creation process rather than just how to create menu. Gossip tutorial
paroxysm  : (23 April 2011 - 11:35 AM) Lua writers can refer to the Luabridge Tutorials section in the Wiki to learn how to write gossip code correctly.
Hasbro  : (20 April 2011 - 05:22 PM) Thank you for your continuous contribution of bug reports, we are working on them.
Hasbro  : (17 April 2011 - 03:20 AM) Please consider donating to support our bills. Donations can be sent using PayPal to donations@arcemu.org - Thank you for your support.
paroxysm  : (10 April 2011 - 12:43 AM) Refer to the Luabridge Tutorials section in the Wiki to learn the new syntax of luabridge.
Resize Shouts Area

Labels

Make sure when posting a help or release topic you put [c++] or [lua] BEFORE your topic title!
  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How To Add Lua Scripts In Linux How to add Lua scripts to my Linux server.

#1 User is offline   Zenthor 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 26-July 11
  • IRC:Zenthor
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 16 June 2013 - 10:46 AM

Hello Arcemu people!
To get straight to the point, i can't seem to figure out how to implement my own Lua scripts to my server. Im running LMDE (Linux distro) for my server at the moment. Ive done this in Windows before but never in Linux. Ive been trying to use my resources (google) to figure this out for days but no one seems to have anything for linux. I'm sure its stupid simple. The .lua files are just basic Mob and Boss fights that i have coded. If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be great!(: I'm fluent in Lua as well as Linux so a noobed-down reply wont be necessary. Thanks! :D

Sorry i didn't read this till after the fact but there should be a [lua] before the name of this topic. Sorry Dx
0

#2 User is offline   dfighter 

  • Titles are overrated
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Posts: 5,189
  • Joined: 14-June 08
  • IRC:dfighter
  • Gender:Male
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 16 June 2013 - 12:57 PM

The same way you did on Windows...
"The demand for free goods is infinite."
0

#3 User is offline   Zenthor 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 26-July 11
  • IRC:Zenthor
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 16 June 2013 - 01:23 PM

I have to ask (but i may be completely off). Have you ever compiled ArcEmu on a Debian based linux distro and done this before? because its far from anything like Windows. Maybe you thought i was using wine to run my server? In that case i am not. I may be wrong though. If i am could you elaborate?

Or maybe you ment to create a "scripts" folder in my /arcemu/server/ directory and just put the Lua files in there? If its that simple then i feel stupid but i find it hard to believe its as simple as that. Plus on Windows there was enabling features in the configs for it. None here.
0

#4 User is offline   dfighter 

  • Titles are overrated
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Posts: 5,189
  • Joined: 14-June 08
  • IRC:dfighter
  • Gender:Male
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 16 June 2013 - 01:55 PM

Considering I was one of the most active developers for years, and I had to many times fix stuff that only happened on non-windows platforms, and so I had to build it on Debian, Ubuntu, CentOS, FreeBSD and even OS X...
Yes I'd say I've done this before.

Whether you believe it or not, it's that simple.
Also the config option that you are referring to was removed *years* ago..
"The demand for free goods is infinite."
0

#5 User is offline   Zenthor 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 26-July 11
  • IRC:Zenthor
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 16 June 2013 - 02:02 PM

I didn't mean that as an insult. Though i believe you took it that way. I'm not sure if you expect me to know who you are or what you've accomplished in the past but i do not nor does it matter to me. It was an honest question as i clearly stated in my message. I haven't ran an Arcemu server in years so your going to have to excuse my outdated knowledge on a few subjects. I switched to Trinity for a short time. But thanks for your help.
0

#6 User is offline   dfighter 

  • Titles are overrated
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Posts: 5,189
  • Joined: 14-June 08
  • IRC:dfighter
  • Gender:Male
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 16 June 2013 - 02:05 PM

No, I didn't take it as an insult.
Either way you are most welcome!
"The demand for free goods is infinite."
0

#7 User is offline   Zenthor 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 26-July 11
  • IRC:Zenthor
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 16 June 2013 - 02:46 PM

I actually have an additional question if you could answer it here quick. Is there any possible way to run the Logon and/or World through the terminal? i hate having it run in the background. Opening it in terminal doesn't work. The only thing that i could think of was using telnet but the commands are limited.
0

#8 User is offline   dfighter 

  • Titles are overrated
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Posts: 5,189
  • Joined: 14-June 08
  • IRC:dfighter
  • Gender:Male
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 16 June 2013 - 05:30 PM

View PostZenthor, on 16 June 2013 - 02:46 PM, said:

I actually have an additional question if you could answer it here quick. Is there any possible way to run the Logon and/or World through the terminal? i hate having it run in the background. Opening it in terminal doesn't work. The only thing that i could think of was using telnet but the commands are limited.

I'm not sure what you mean that it doesn't work.
It should be working.
"The demand for free goods is infinite."
0

#9 User is offline   Zenthor 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 26-July 11
  • IRC:Zenthor
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 16 June 2013 - 06:13 PM

My world and logon do not open anything visual. The only way I can tell if they started up is through the task manager. They run in the background. Maybe its the distro that I have chosen to host my server on. Everything works properly and i have compiled the server successfully several times on this distro. The only problem I face is it doesn't open in terminal. Any ideas?
0

#10 User is offline   dfighter 

  • Titles are overrated
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Posts: 5,189
  • Joined: 14-June 08
  • IRC:dfighter
  • Gender:Male
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 16 June 2013 - 06:56 PM

View PostZenthor, on 16 June 2013 - 06:13 PM, said:

My world and logon do not open anything visual. The only way I can tell if they started up is through the task manager. They run in the background. Maybe its the distro that I have chosen to host my server on. Everything works properly and i have compiled the server successfully several times on this distro. The only problem I face is it doesn't open in terminal. Any ideas?

That's interesting.
Have you tried opening the terminals first and then starting the servers from the terminals?
"The demand for free goods is infinite."
0

#11 User is offline   Zenthor 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 26-July 11
  • IRC:Zenthor
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 16 June 2013 - 07:05 PM

Yes and sadly that doesn't work either :/

logon:
[06-16-2013][20:01][Arcemu][2013-06-16 20:01:06]
[06-16-2013][20:01][Arcemu]ArcEmu 4.0-TRUNK f3d9605/Release-Linux (X64) :: Logon Server
The key combination <Ctrl-C> will safely shut down the server at any time.
[06-16-2013][20:01][Arcemu]System: Initializing Random Number Generators...
[06-16-2013][20:01][Arcemu]Config: Loading Config Files...
[06-16-2013][20:01][Arcemu]Could not open etc/logon.conf.
[06-16-2013][20:01][Arcemu] [ERR] /home/arcemu/installer/arcemu/code/src/arcemu-logonserver/Main.cpp:206 Rehash Config file could not be rehashed.

World:
[06-16-2013][20:02][Arcemu][2013-06-16 20:02:19]
[06-16-2013][20:02][Arcemu]ArcEmu 4.0-TRUNK f3d9605/Release-Linux-X64 :: World Server
The key combination <Ctrl-C> will safely shut down the server at any time.
[06-16-2013][20:02][Arcemu]Config: Loading Config Files...
[06-16-2013][20:02][Arcemu]Could not open etc/world.conf.
[06-16-2013][20:02][Arcemu]Config: >> error occurred loading etc/world.conf
0

#12 User is offline   dfighter 

  • Titles are overrated
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Posts: 5,189
  • Joined: 14-June 08
  • IRC:dfighter
  • Gender:Male
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 16 June 2013 - 07:13 PM

View PostZenthor, on 16 June 2013 - 07:05 PM, said:

Yes and sadly that doesn't work either :/

logon:
[06-16-2013][20:01][Arcemu][2013-06-16 20:01:06]
[06-16-2013][20:01][Arcemu]ArcEmu 4.0-TRUNK f3d9605/Release-Linux (X64) :: Logon Server
The key combination <Ctrl-C> will safely shut down the server at any time.
[06-16-2013][20:01][Arcemu]System: Initializing Random Number Generators...
[06-16-2013][20:01][Arcemu]Config: Loading Config Files...
[06-16-2013][20:01][Arcemu]Could not open etc/logon.conf.
[06-16-2013][20:01][Arcemu] [ERR] /home/arcemu/installer/arcemu/code/src/arcemu-logonserver/Main.cpp:206 Rehash Config file could not be rehashed.

World:
[06-16-2013][20:02][Arcemu][2013-06-16 20:02:19]
[06-16-2013][20:02][Arcemu]ArcEmu 4.0-TRUNK f3d9605/Release-Linux-X64 :: World Server
The key combination <Ctrl-C> will safely shut down the server at any time.
[06-16-2013][20:02][Arcemu]Config: Loading Config Files...
[06-16-2013][20:02][Arcemu]Could not open etc/world.conf.
[06-16-2013][20:02][Arcemu]Config: >> error occurred loading etc/world.conf

Do you not have the config files in the ARCEMU/etc ( where ARCEMU is the directory where you have logon and world ) directory or are you trying to start the server from another directory?
"The demand for free goods is infinite."
0

#13 User is offline   Zenthor 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 26-July 11
  • IRC:Zenthor
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 16 June 2013 - 07:35 PM

Everything is in its correct directories. Those errors were a result of these: /home/arcemu/server/logon and /home/arcemu/server/world. (Even though its not recommended to use sudo to run the server for security reasons, i tried running those commands as root and got the same output) It puzzles me
0

#14 User is offline   dfighter 

  • Titles are overrated
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Posts: 5,189
  • Joined: 14-June 08
  • IRC:dfighter
  • Gender:Male
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 17 June 2013 - 11:21 AM

View PostZenthor, on 16 June 2013 - 07:35 PM, said:

Everything is in its correct directories. Those errors were a result of these: /home/arcemu/server/logon and /home/arcemu/server/world. (Even though its not recommended to use sudo to run the server for security reasons, i tried running those commands as root and got the same output) It puzzles me

That doesn't make much sense then.
Are you absolutely sure everything is where it should be?
Can you paste the result of
find .
?

How did you start the logon and world? Did you start them the way you wrote there, like
/home/arcemu/server/logon
/home/arcemu/server/world

?

Or did you start them by going to their directory and issuing
logon
world

?
"The demand for free goods is infinite."
0

#15 User is offline   Zenthor 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 26-July 11
  • IRC:Zenthor
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 17 June 2013 - 11:45 AM

I'm positive everything is in their correct directories.
"find /home/arcemu/server" is too long to fit in a terminal let alone "find ."
but I can however confirm that everything is in its correct place

/home/arcemu/server/logon
/home/arcemu/server/world
/home/arcemu/server/etc/logon.conf
/home/arcemu/server/etc/optional.conf
/home/arcemu/server/etc/realms.conf
/home/arcemu/server/etc/world.conf

As i said, the server runs just fine. Everything is in its correct directories. The only problem i face is not having world/logon to open in anything visual, let alone terminal. Maybe i could give you the info to my RealSVN and you could look at it? that's up to you though. I appreciate all the help you've given so far.
0

#16 User is offline   dfighter 

  • Titles are overrated
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Posts: 5,189
  • Joined: 14-June 08
  • IRC:dfighter
  • Gender:Male
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 17 June 2013 - 11:57 AM

View PostZenthor, on 17 June 2013 - 11:45 AM, said:

I'm positive everything is in their correct directories.
"find /home/arcemu/server" is too long to fit in a terminal let alone "find ."
but I can however confirm that everything is in its correct place

/home/arcemu/server/logon
/home/arcemu/server/world
/home/arcemu/server/etc/logon.conf
/home/arcemu/server/etc/optional.conf
/home/arcemu/server/etc/realms.conf
/home/arcemu/server/etc/world.conf

As i said, the server runs just fine. Everything is in its correct directories. The only problem i face is not having world/logon to open in anything visual, let alone terminal. Maybe i could give you the info to my RealSVN and you could look at it? that's up to you though. I appreciate all the help you've given so far.

You can redirect the output of programs to text files. So even if it's too long, you can just paste from the file! :)

Anyhow if they are there that cannot be the problem. I just wanted to make sure.
I'm trying to find out why you are getting the error that you pasted.
That's why I asked how you start the servers.

As for the not visual output, I still cannot give an explanation. It shouldn't do that, it's not programmed to do that.
"The demand for free goods is infinite."
0

#17 User is offline   Zenthor 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 26-July 11
  • IRC:Zenthor
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 17 June 2013 - 12:38 PM

Ahh hmm. could just possibly be the distribution im using. And sorry i forgot to answer that question in the last message. Ive tried starting them both ways, but origionally when i posted the errors it was from /home/arcemu/server/logon & /home/arcemu/server/world
0

#18 User is offline   dfighter 

  • Titles are overrated
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Posts: 5,189
  • Joined: 14-June 08
  • IRC:dfighter
  • Gender:Male
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 17 June 2013 - 12:42 PM

View PostZenthor, on 17 June 2013 - 12:38 PM, said:

Ahh hmm. could just possibly be the distribution im using. And sorry i forgot to answer that question in the last message. Ive tried starting them both ways, but origionally when i posted the errors it was from /home/arcemu/server/logon & /home/arcemu/server/world

if you don't start from the Arcemu directory then that error is normal.
Arcemu has no way of knowing where to look for the config files in that case, since it uses paths relative to the working directory.
"The demand for free goods is infinite."
0

#19 User is offline   Zenthor 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 26-July 11
  • IRC:Zenthor
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 17 June 2013 - 12:47 PM

Well when i use "cd /home/arcemu/server/" and then issue "logon" or "world", it just gives me a no command found error. That could very well be an idiot syntax error on my part though.
0

#20 User is offline   dfighter 

  • Titles are overrated
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Posts: 5,189
  • Joined: 14-June 08
  • IRC:dfighter
  • Gender:Male
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 17 June 2013 - 01:46 PM

Yes, you are supposed to type
./logon
./world


Is this the first time you are using Linux?
"The demand for free goods is infinite."
0

Share this topic:


  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users