ArcEmu: Ad.exe Not Extracting Maps/dbc Properly - ArcEmu

Jump to content

Toggle shoutbox Lastest Announcements

dfighter  : (01 January 2013 - 05:56 PM) Arcemu wishes you all a happy new year!
Hasbro  : (12 September 2012 - 10:01 AM) Please excuse our outage from the web! Our web host had a major malfunction!
dfighter  : (01 September 2012 - 04:05 PM) Since the spam bots just don't want to stop, I've enabled admin verification when registering.
dfighter  : (23 January 2012 - 09:56 PM) Please note that from now on you will need to confirm your email on the wiki in order to edit it!
Hasbro  : (31 December 2011 - 12:50 PM) Happy New Years all!
Navid  : (26 December 2011 - 04:09 AM) Merry Christmas !!!!!! Happy holidays all :)
WAmadeus  : (24 December 2011 - 03:54 PM) Merry Christmas to all!
dfighter  : (24 December 2011 - 11:05 AM) The Arcemu team wishes y'all a Merry Christmukkah!
Hasbro  : (05 October 2011 - 12:53 PM) Looking for web designers for upcoming web related project. If you're interested in designing user interfaces contact me
dfighter  : (02 September 2011 - 03:47 PM) So who here wants vehicles in Arcemu? :P http://arcemu.org/fo...showtopic=25440
Hasbro  : (14 August 2011 - 03:25 PM) Join us on irc, grab an irc client and connect to irc.freenode.net join channel #arcemu /server irc.freenode.net:6667 /join #arcemu
jackpoz  : (03 August 2011 - 05:33 AM) to all Lua Engine (old one) users: please check http://arcemu.org/fo...showtopic=25274
Hasbro  : (20 May 2011 - 05:27 PM) Looking for people experienced with CMake configuration and setup! Contact me asap
Hasbro  : (15 May 2011 - 05:03 PM) ArcEmu is recruiting C++ programmers, contact Hasbro if interested.
paroxysm  : (03 May 2011 - 06:26 PM) Updated luabridge gossip example to describe the whole gossip creation process rather than just how to create menu. Gossip tutorial
paroxysm  : (23 April 2011 - 11:35 AM) Lua writers can refer to the Luabridge Tutorials section in the Wiki to learn how to write gossip code correctly.
Hasbro  : (20 April 2011 - 05:22 PM) Thank you for your continuous contribution of bug reports, we are working on them.
Hasbro  : (17 April 2011 - 03:20 AM) Please consider donating to support our bills. Donations can be sent using PayPal to donations@arcemu.org - Thank you for your support.
paroxysm  : (10 April 2011 - 12:43 AM) Refer to the Luabridge Tutorials section in the Wiki to learn the new syntax of luabridge.
Hasbro  : (06 April 2011 - 07:55 PM) We will not tolerate disrespect on our forums. If you believe a member of the staff or a member of the community is abusing our forums, please report their post.
Resize Shouts Area

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Ad.exe Not Extracting Maps/dbc Properly

#1 User is offline   WhisperALulluby 

  • Newbie
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 17-June 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Server OS:Windows

Posted 17 June 2012 - 05:40 PM

I've been having this problem since this step in the installation process. When extracting my dbcs, I place the files found in arcemu/tools in programfiles(86x)/worldofwarcraft. I run the exe and the DBC folder is created with quite a lot of files. In the installation guide it says that maps should be created, too, which it isn't. At first I wasn't sure if this was an issue (who needs maps to play??? :P) or that I'd figure it out once it came to it, so I continued with the installation manually creating the directories. Once updating and running the world.exe, it said at first that some of my dbcs were missing. Then I tried again with another extractor found through google, and this time it said that they were invalid. I have ran through this problem while reading over the entire wiki without success. The current issue is that the commandprompt says that there is "possible invalid format in file DBC/WorldMapOverlay.dbc, and that my maps folder is empty (edit, this is the issue with running the ad.exe provided by arcemu). I'm trying to set this up for my wife who goes on a 9 month deployment on a ship (she is in the Navy) without personal internet access. Thank you so much for the help.


AHA! I see why now. It's not extracting it! See screen shot.


EDIT: SOLVED! Didn't see that the version of WOW that I had was 4.0.0. ad.exe is extracting the maps as I speak. Sorry for wasting your time reading this, but hopefully it helps someone else?

CLOSE

Attached File(s)


0

#2 User is offline   Laonefaye 

  • Newbie
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 28-April 13
  • Gender:Female
  • Server OS:Windows

Posted 29 April 2013 - 12:59 PM

Really? I can't even get ad.exe to show up. I've tried using Git to clone the files twice, and each time ad.exe is missing. I have to go in an srl file to get to the tools folder, and then there's just a folder called "ad" that has something called "System.cpp" inside, which I can open with MySQL but otherwise does nothing. I have no idea what's going on, and I've followed the instructions so far to the letter.
Attached File  EntireClone.png (188.21K)
Number of downloads: 3
0

#3 User is offline   dfighter 

  • Titles are overrated
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Posts: 5,134
  • Joined: 14-June 08
  • IRC:dfighter
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Budapest, Hungary
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 29 April 2013 - 01:35 PM

View PostLaonefaye, on 29 April 2013 - 12:59 PM, said:

Really? I can't even get ad.exe to show up. I've tried using Git to clone the files twice, and each time ad.exe is missing. I have to go in an srl file to get to the tools folder, and then there's just a folder called "ad" that has something called "System.cpp" inside, which I can open with MySQL but otherwise does nothing. I have no idea what's going on, and I've followed the instructions so far to the letter.
Attachment EntireClone.png

No you haven't.
Cloning our repository with Git doesn't give you binary files. You only get the source code, which you will have to compile. Then you will have ad.exe too...
Also I highly doubt you opened "System.cpp" with MySQL, since that is a C++ source file, and MySQL is a database management program.

Also next time, please be smart enough to not post into a topic that's a year old, but open your own.
"The demand for free goods is infinite."

Check out my blog and feel free to follow me if you like!
0

#4 User is offline   Laonefaye 

  • Newbie
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 28-April 13
  • Gender:Female
  • Server OS:Windows

Posted 29 April 2013 - 01:52 PM

View Postdfighter, on 29 April 2013 - 01:35 PM, said:

No you haven't.
Cloning our repository with Git doesn't give you binary files. You only get the source code, which you will have to compile. Then you will have ad.exe too...
Also I highly doubt you opened "System.cpp" with MySQL, since that is a C++ source file, and MySQL is a database management program.

Also next time, please be smart enough to not post into a topic that's a year old, but open your own.


Then perhaps the wiki ought to explain things a bit better, and in the proper order. I don't like to clog up the forum with new posts on topics already started. Maybe I don't know proper forum etiquette, then. Sorry about that. Everything here is completely new to me, and I'm really trying to make it work based upon the instructions given. But now I'm off to find another source of information on creating my own private server, since the responders and creators of this one clearly lack human personalities. But thanks for your time, I guess.
0

#5 User is offline   dfighter 

  • Titles are overrated
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Posts: 5,134
  • Joined: 14-June 08
  • IRC:dfighter
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Budapest, Hungary
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 29 April 2013 - 09:14 PM

View PostLaonefaye, on 29 April 2013 - 01:52 PM, said:

Then perhaps the wiki ought to explain things a bit better, and in the proper order. I don't like to clog up the forum with new posts on topics already started. Maybe I don't know proper forum etiquette, then. Sorry about that. Everything here is completely new to me, and I'm really trying to make it work based upon the instructions given. But now I'm off to find another source of information on creating my own private server, since the responders and creators of this one clearly lack human personalities. But thanks for your time, I guess.

It explains things just fine, and guides you through the process step by step.
"The demand for free goods is infinite."

Check out my blog and feel free to follow me if you like!
0

#6 User is offline   Chriah 

  • Newbie
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 21-September 09

Posted 01 May 2013 - 09:21 PM

To those who are also having problems using Ad.exe, try making sure your World of Warcraft folder is called "World of Warcraft". Without the proper name it will not work. I suggest adding this to the wiki if anyone has access because It may seem simple but I have several versions of world of Warcraft all with different names.

X:\XXX\XXX\XX\XXX\World of Warcraft\
0

#7 User is offline   dfighter 

  • Titles are overrated
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Posts: 5,134
  • Joined: 14-June 08
  • IRC:dfighter
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Budapest, Hungary
  • Server OS:Linux

Posted 02 May 2013 - 05:01 AM

View PostChriah, on 01 May 2013 - 09:21 PM, said:

To those who are also having problems using Ad.exe, try making sure your World of Warcraft folder is called "World of Warcraft". Without the proper name it will not work. I suggest adding this to the wiki if anyone has access because It may seem simple but I have several versions of world of Warcraft all with different names.

X:\XXX\XXX\XX\XXX\World of Warcraft\

My wow folder is called wow335a and ad.exe works just fine.
"The demand for free goods is infinite."

Check out my blog and feel free to follow me if you like!
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users