ArcEmu: Visionbb - Need Help - ArcEmu

Jump to content

Toggle shoutbox Lastest Announcements

dfighter  : (07 December 2014 - 12:06 PM) Arcemu is in hibernation mode, please read http://arcemu.org/fo...showtopic=26903
dfighter  : (01 January 2013 - 05:56 PM) Arcemu wishes you all a happy new year!
Hasbro  : (12 September 2012 - 10:01 AM) Please excuse our outage from the web! Our web host had a major malfunction!
dfighter  : (01 September 2012 - 04:05 PM) Since the spam bots just don't want to stop, I've enabled admin verification when registering.
dfighter  : (23 January 2012 - 09:56 PM) Please note that from now on you will need to confirm your email on the wiki in order to edit it!
Hasbro  : (31 December 2011 - 12:50 PM) Happy New Years all!
Navid  : (26 December 2011 - 04:09 AM) Merry Christmas !!!!!! Happy holidays all :)
WAmadeus  : (24 December 2011 - 03:54 PM) Merry Christmas to all!
dfighter  : (24 December 2011 - 11:05 AM) The Arcemu team wishes y'all a Merry Christmukkah!
Hasbro  : (05 October 2011 - 12:53 PM) Looking for web designers for upcoming web related project. If you're interested in designing user interfaces contact me
dfighter  : (02 September 2011 - 03:47 PM) So who here wants vehicles in Arcemu? :P http://arcemu.org/fo...showtopic=25440
Hasbro  : (14 August 2011 - 03:25 PM) Join us on irc, grab an irc client and connect to irc.freenode.net join channel #arcemu /server irc.freenode.net:6667 /join #arcemu
jackpoz  : (03 August 2011 - 05:33 AM) to all Lua Engine (old one) users: please check http://arcemu.org/fo...showtopic=25274
Hasbro  : (20 May 2011 - 05:27 PM) Looking for people experienced with CMake configuration and setup! Contact me asap
Hasbro  : (15 May 2011 - 05:03 PM) ArcEmu is recruiting C++ programmers, contact Hasbro if interested.
paroxysm  : (03 May 2011 - 06:26 PM) Updated luabridge gossip example to describe the whole gossip creation process rather than just how to create menu. Gossip tutorial
paroxysm  : (23 April 2011 - 11:35 AM) Lua writers can refer to the Luabridge Tutorials section in the Wiki to learn how to write gossip code correctly.
Hasbro  : (20 April 2011 - 05:22 PM) Thank you for your continuous contribution of bug reports, we are working on them.
Hasbro  : (17 April 2011 - 03:20 AM) Please consider donating to support our bills. Donations can be sent using PayPal to donations@arcemu.org - Thank you for your support.
paroxysm  : (10 April 2011 - 12:43 AM) Refer to the Luabridge Tutorials section in the Wiki to learn the new syntax of luabridge.
Resize Shouts Area

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Visionbb - Need Help

#1 User is offline   WoTLKPROGAMER 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: 30-November 08

Posted 31 December 2009 - 07:04 AM

Hello. I need some help for my script which is here:
<?php
echo '<h1>VisionBB</h1>';
$link = mysql_pconnect("localhost", "root", "ascent");
mysql_select_db("darkcms", $link);
$find = mysql_query("select * from forums");
while($r=mysql_fetch_array($find)){
$link = $r['id'];
$name = $r['name'];
echo '<a href=?forum='.$link.'>'.$name.'</a><br>';
}
if($_GET['forum'] == $link){
$find = mysql_query("select * from forums WHERE id = '$_GET[forum]'");
while($f=@mysql_fetch_array($find)){
$content = $f['content'];
echo $content;
}
}
?>

but there is something wrong with it.
It does work for the one thats longest down the forum list.
but not for the others...
here is the SQL:
CREATE TABLE `forums` (
  `id` int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment,
  `name` text collate latin1_general_ci NOT NULL,
  `content` text collate latin1_general_ci NOT NULL,
  PRIMARY KEY  (`id`)
) ENGINE=MyISAM AUTO_INCREMENT=21 DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1 COLLATE=latin1_general_ci;

i really really need help for it :3
0

#2 User is offline   Bob Herman 

  • Interested
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 452
  • Joined: 11-October 08
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 December 2009 - 12:50 PM

what exactly are you trying to do?
0

#3 User is offline   WoTLKPROGAMER 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: 30-November 08

Posted 31 December 2009 - 04:04 PM

make forums board
0

#4 User is offline   Bob Herman 

  • Interested
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 452
  • Joined: 11-October 08
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 December 2009 - 07:37 PM

;)

Be a little more specific please.
0

#5 User is offline   WoTLKPROGAMER 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: 30-November 08

Posted 31 December 2009 - 07:56 PM

There is a database named forums.
There you enter id, name and content of that forum...
Then this script (should) show the content of the forum once they click on one of the forum names on the page.
But it only works for the forum name which is longest down the list (if there is more than one forum)
0

#6 User is offline   Bob Herman 

  • Interested
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 452
  • Joined: 11-October 08
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 January 2010 - 03:31 PM

<?php
echo '<h1>VisionBB</h1>';
$link = mysql_pconnect("localhost", "root", "ascent");
mysql_select_db("darkcms", $link);

#This is where we'll store all our id's
$possibleids = array();

#This will increment our array
$id = 0;

$find = mysql_query("SELECT id FROM forums");
while($r=mysql_fetch_array($find)) {
  
  #increase our id by one
  $id++;

  #Store the id
  $possibleids[$r['id'] = $id;
  echo "<a href=?forum={$r['id']}>{$r['name']}</a><br>";
}

#Removes any notices
if(isset($_GET['forum']) {

    #Store the id into a nice variable
   $forum_id = $_GET['forum'];

   #Check for the variable/forum
   if(isset($possibleids[$forum_id]) {

     #Get the forum's information
     $find = @mysql_query("SELECT * FROM forums WHERE id = '$forum_id' LIMIT 1");

      while($f=@mysql_fetch_array($find)) {
        echo $f['content'];
      }
   } else echo 'Could not find forum';
}
?>


Okay, here you go. You'll probably have to revise this since I made this on the spot without my texteditor, and haven't tested it yet (I'm at a friend's house).

What you were doing was checking if the $link existed. The problem is that in each while, you are replacing all the older while's... and in the end the only one that is left is the very last one. So what I did is I stored the id's in an array, and then checked the $_GET by looking if the array thing was already set.

You should structure your code. Not only does it make it look a lot prettier, it also makes it easier for people to look through the code. Using comments could help also.

Next, you should try to keep from doing pointless variables, especially in while statements. Also, since MySQL can slow down your site, use LIMIT (this allows a query to stop after if finds all the necessary information, instead of continuing on) and don't use SELECT * FROM as much.

Hope this helped :P
0

#7 User is offline   WoTLKPROGAMER 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: 30-November 08

Posted 04 January 2010 - 10:37 AM

Hey Bob Herman ;)
Thank you very much i am gonna try it now though i found out how to fix it myself also :D
it was as simple as changing if($_GET['forum'] == $link){ to if(isset($_GET['forum'])){

im sorry to say but it dont work bob herman.
:lol: i fixed the first error but then it says there is a unexpected { on line 24
0

#8 User is offline   Bob Herman 

  • Interested
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 452
  • Joined: 11-October 08
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 January 2010 - 04:58 PM

are you using my script, or your own fix?
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users