ArcEmu: Reputation Set - ArcEmu

Jump to content

Toggle shoutbox Lastest Announcements

dfighter  : (07 December 2014 - 12:06 PM) Arcemu is in hibernation mode, please read http://arcemu.org/fo...showtopic=26903
dfighter  : (01 January 2013 - 05:56 PM) Arcemu wishes you all a happy new year!
Hasbro  : (12 September 2012 - 10:01 AM) Please excuse our outage from the web! Our web host had a major malfunction!
dfighter  : (01 September 2012 - 04:05 PM) Since the spam bots just don't want to stop, I've enabled admin verification when registering.
dfighter  : (23 January 2012 - 09:56 PM) Please note that from now on you will need to confirm your email on the wiki in order to edit it!
Hasbro  : (31 December 2011 - 12:50 PM) Happy New Years all!
Navid  : (26 December 2011 - 04:09 AM) Merry Christmas !!!!!! Happy holidays all :)
WAmadeus  : (24 December 2011 - 03:54 PM) Merry Christmas to all!
dfighter  : (24 December 2011 - 11:05 AM) The Arcemu team wishes y'all a Merry Christmukkah!
Hasbro  : (05 October 2011 - 12:53 PM) Looking for web designers for upcoming web related project. If you're interested in designing user interfaces contact me
dfighter  : (02 September 2011 - 03:47 PM) So who here wants vehicles in Arcemu? :P http://arcemu.org/fo...showtopic=25440
Hasbro  : (14 August 2011 - 03:25 PM) Join us on irc, grab an irc client and connect to irc.freenode.net join channel #arcemu /server irc.freenode.net:6667 /join #arcemu
jackpoz  : (03 August 2011 - 05:33 AM) to all Lua Engine (old one) users: please check http://arcemu.org/fo...showtopic=25274
Hasbro  : (20 May 2011 - 05:27 PM) Looking for people experienced with CMake configuration and setup! Contact me asap
Hasbro  : (15 May 2011 - 05:03 PM) ArcEmu is recruiting C++ programmers, contact Hasbro if interested.
paroxysm  : (03 May 2011 - 06:26 PM) Updated luabridge gossip example to describe the whole gossip creation process rather than just how to create menu. Gossip tutorial
paroxysm  : (23 April 2011 - 11:35 AM) Lua writers can refer to the Luabridge Tutorials section in the Wiki to learn how to write gossip code correctly.
Hasbro  : (20 April 2011 - 05:22 PM) Thank you for your continuous contribution of bug reports, we are working on them.
Hasbro  : (17 April 2011 - 03:20 AM) Please consider donating to support our bills. Donations can be sent using PayPal to donations@arcemu.org - Thank you for your support.
paroxysm  : (10 April 2011 - 12:43 AM) Refer to the Luabridge Tutorials section in the Wiki to learn the new syntax of luabridge.
Resize Shouts Area

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Reputation Set setting reputation at lvl 1

#1 User is offline   kiwi 

  • Newbie
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 19-June 10
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 June 2010 - 03:19 AM

OK, so first of all I just want to say you guys have done a fantastic job with arcemu in general. I created my server just two days ago and have it running perfectly. I do have a question though, not sure if it is even possible or not but, is it possible to unlock the permanent "at war" between team factions? I ask because I'm trying to spec my server to be a giant PVE with just friends, and i want to be able to set an overall neutral reputation between all factions at level 1. This way characters will be able to port to any starting location and play through that area earning reputation for that faction. End desired result would be so that a tauren character could port to the human starting area and group up with other humans and/or any other race and be able to quest in that said area. Again, I don't know if this is even possible. I have read that there is a permanent lock on "team faction" rep but I believe if we could edit the faction template under playercreateinfo that it may be possible. I myself am not much of a programmer so i don't really know what i'm doing nor have the tools to do so. Any comments, or tool suggestions, or even just locations to look for answers would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
-Kiwi
0

#2 User is offline   kiwi 

  • Newbie
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 19-June 10
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 June 2010 - 12:40 PM

View PostMarforius, on 21 June 2010 - 04:17 AM, said:

Yes you can set reputations with a script at character creation.

However Official Arcemu Addons > Help and Support was not the proper place to post this in.

moved.


How would I go about doing that? is there possibly already a script someone else has made that I can simply edit? Editing is easy enough, but writing a script from scratch is beyond my capabilities.
0

#3 User is offline   kiwi 

  • Newbie
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 19-June 10
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 June 2010 - 01:34 PM

View PostMarforius, on 22 June 2010 - 04:07 AM, said:

Basically hook into character creation in either LUA or add a few lines to the core for what you want.

function Rep_OnEnterWorld(event, player)
	if (player:GetPlayerLevel() == "1") then
else return
end


Or something close to that, someone should be able to correct me.



That's Fantastic! I was expecting it to be a much longer process to do something like that. Is there anyone whom might be interested in possibly working on this for me though? I really don't know enough to be writing scripts, i just know enough to keep the server stable and up and running. If you just know of anyone who may be will or interested in getting this kind of thing working. That would be great.
0

#4 User is offline   kiwi 

  • Newbie
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 19-June 10
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 June 2010 - 03:02 PM

View PostMarforius, on 24 June 2010 - 09:49 AM, said:

Just because your new im going to script an example of it for you and comment everything so you can learn from it, later today.

Come on IRC and pester me if I don't reply to this thread in 5-12 hours.


ok, thank you soo much. I would love to be able to do the things you guys can. I'm trying to learn but this is just over my head. This would help me and my friends out soo much though. thank you :)

For this script would it be something I could apply to characters that have already been made as well? because a lot of my main players have already made characters. I still plan on getting more players so this will be extremely helpful either way.
0

#5 User is offline   Imacellist2 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: 25-June 10
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 June 2010 - 01:30 AM

View PostMarforius, on 24 June 2010 - 07:45 PM, said:

Ok



function Rep_OnEnterWorld(event, player) -- Register the function
	player:SetStanding(530, 5000000) -- Set the standings for all factions, 530 = faction 5000000 = amount of reputation given
	player:SetStanding(729, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(76, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(911, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(510, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(941, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(947, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(81, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(922, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(68, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(889, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(589, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(69, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(930, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(54, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(946, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(47, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(978, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(890, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(730, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(72, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(509, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(471, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(529, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(1012, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(21, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(609, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(942, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(909, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(577, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(369, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(92, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(749, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(989, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(1011, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(93, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(1015, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(1038, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(470, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(349, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(1031, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(1077, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(809, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(970, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(932, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(933, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(990, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(934, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(935, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(967, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(59, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(576, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(270, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(87, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(70, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(910, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(1106, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(1073, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(1104, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(1105, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(1091, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(1090, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(1098, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(1052, 5000000)
	player:SetStanding(1037, 5000000)
	end -- end the script
end -- End of file
	
RegisterServerHook(3, "Rep_OnEnterWorld") -- Tell the engine about the hook



That should work fine, note that it doesnt have 3.3.3+ factions, but you can fill those in if you want.

For more documentation and tutorials on HypArc, check out the wiki here Category:Scripting-LUA While still under construction, there is a fair amount of good pages.


Ok so I am new to this whole world but I LOVE it. Anyways I love this idea and would like to implement it on my server. Would adding it to the bottom of the playercreateinfo.sql file be the correct way to implement it or is there a better/correct way of doing it. Thanks.
0

#6 User is offline   Imacellist2 

  • Member
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: 25-June 10
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 June 2010 - 02:44 AM

View PostMarforius, on 25 June 2010 - 01:36 AM, said:

You save the script as a .lua file and put it in arcemu/scripts

ex. arcemu/scripts/*.lua


Since this is a server hook it doesn't need anything else done, just restart the realm.


Awesome. Thank you soo much. I appreciate you taking the time to help a noob like me. I love this stuff, just gotta get a little help every once in a while. Thanks again.
0

#7 User is offline   kiwi 

  • Newbie
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 19-June 10
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 June 2010 - 03:39 AM

Ok so i created a new text file, copy and pasted the script you sent me into it. saved it as PlayerReputation.lua and placed it into my arcemu(base folder)\scripts Reloaded the world and when i did so i got a error stating...
" scripts\PlayerReputation.lua:70: '<eof>' expected near 'end' "

not entirely sure as to what that means. I made sure in my world config file i set it to lua=1 and as=0 as desired by the lua wiki at the end of the arcemu guide. I made sure that i have my lua working by finding some of arcemu's other misc lua files and ran them just fine. All 60 or so seem to be working fine and the world exe even stated they are working. Any guesses or things to try?

Note: I am running the 3.3.3 version have not updated yet. I cant get 3.3.5 to build correctly yet. waiting for more updates to the svn to come out till mine eventually works. 8 succeded 7 failed so far.
0

#8 User is offline   kiwi 

  • Newbie
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 19-June 10
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 June 2010 - 04:49 PM

View PostMarforius, on 25 June 2010 - 05:55 AM, said:

You know, my bad :s

Im used to dealing with gossip scripts for LUA and adding two ends to it. I updated my post with the correct eof



lol No problem I'm just happy you did this for me anyways :blink: but again, thank you soo much! I'll get back to you as soon as i can to make sure it worked.
0

#9 User is offline   kiwi 

  • Newbie
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 19-June 10
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 June 2010 - 10:20 PM

Well, I tried the Script and it works great, for setting standing... however cross factions still can't participate in each others quests, nor can the factions even open a trade menus between one another. The more I think about what I am asking for, the more I think it is impossible bacause it sounds like there is an actual faction ID seperate from reputation that probably can't be something that can be adjusted to have both as a setting. So the reputation works, however the ability to do quests from opposing factions still remain unattainable.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users