ArcEmu: Select Options From Database - ArcEmu

Jump to content

Toggle shoutbox Lastest Announcements

dfighter  : (07 December 2014 - 12:06 PM) Arcemu is in hibernation mode, please read http://arcemu.org/fo...showtopic=26903
dfighter  : (01 January 2013 - 05:56 PM) Arcemu wishes you all a happy new year!
Hasbro  : (12 September 2012 - 10:01 AM) Please excuse our outage from the web! Our web host had a major malfunction!
dfighter  : (01 September 2012 - 04:05 PM) Since the spam bots just don't want to stop, I've enabled admin verification when registering.
dfighter  : (23 January 2012 - 09:56 PM) Please note that from now on you will need to confirm your email on the wiki in order to edit it!
Hasbro  : (31 December 2011 - 12:50 PM) Happy New Years all!
Navid  : (26 December 2011 - 04:09 AM) Merry Christmas !!!!!! Happy holidays all :)
WAmadeus  : (24 December 2011 - 03:54 PM) Merry Christmas to all!
dfighter  : (24 December 2011 - 11:05 AM) The Arcemu team wishes y'all a Merry Christmukkah!
Hasbro  : (05 October 2011 - 12:53 PM) Looking for web designers for upcoming web related project. If you're interested in designing user interfaces contact me
dfighter  : (02 September 2011 - 03:47 PM) So who here wants vehicles in Arcemu? :P http://arcemu.org/fo...showtopic=25440
Hasbro  : (14 August 2011 - 03:25 PM) Join us on irc, grab an irc client and connect to irc.freenode.net join channel #arcemu /server irc.freenode.net:6667 /join #arcemu
jackpoz  : (03 August 2011 - 05:33 AM) to all Lua Engine (old one) users: please check http://arcemu.org/fo...showtopic=25274
Hasbro  : (20 May 2011 - 05:27 PM) Looking for people experienced with CMake configuration and setup! Contact me asap
Hasbro  : (15 May 2011 - 05:03 PM) ArcEmu is recruiting C++ programmers, contact Hasbro if interested.
paroxysm  : (03 May 2011 - 06:26 PM) Updated luabridge gossip example to describe the whole gossip creation process rather than just how to create menu. Gossip tutorial
paroxysm  : (23 April 2011 - 11:35 AM) Lua writers can refer to the Luabridge Tutorials section in the Wiki to learn how to write gossip code correctly.
Hasbro  : (20 April 2011 - 05:22 PM) Thank you for your continuous contribution of bug reports, we are working on them.
Hasbro  : (17 April 2011 - 03:20 AM) Please consider donating to support our bills. Donations can be sent using PayPal to donations@arcemu.org - Thank you for your support.
paroxysm  : (10 April 2011 - 12:43 AM) Refer to the Luabridge Tutorials section in the Wiki to learn the new syntax of luabridge.
Resize Shouts Area

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Select Options From Database

#1 User is offline   Furt 

  • Member
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: 26-November 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deep South

Posted 23 December 2009 - 04:08 PM

ok theres my problem I have a db table with realm information but i can get it to echo the id and name to the select form.
  <tr>
	<td>Realm:
	</td>
	<td><select name="realm" type="select" style="width:100%">
			<option value=''>--select realm--</option>
	<?
	//placeholder for realm function
	$sql = new sql();
	$sql->wconnect();
		
	$rquery = "SELECT * FROM realmlist";
	$rresult = mysql_query($rquery);
	
	if (!$rresult) {
		$message  = mysql_error();
		error_reporting('E_NONE');
		echo $message;
	}

	while ($rrow = mysql_fetch_assoc($rresult)) {
	
	?>
        <option value='<?php echo $rrow['id']; ?>'><?php echo $rrow['name']; ?></option>
        
        <?php
	}
	?>
	</td>
  </tr>


if i can get some help with this it would be very much appreciated b/c ive been stuck in this for a hour ^^
Projects



Current retail Characters:
Realm Class Name Level
The Forgotten Coast - Druid - Jeeroy - 80
Senjin - Warlock - Maruderenn - 72

#2 User is offline   this_is_junk 

  • Retired Retard
  • Group: Contributor
  • Posts: 2,432
  • Joined: 08-October 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Washington State

Posted 23 December 2009 - 04:12 PM

When you're referencing the index by name (fetch_assoc) you have to use the correct capitalization.
If the field is named `Name` then you have to use $row['Name'].
GAH!!! >_< ...can't...just...stop...working...
0

#3 User is offline   Furt 

  • Member
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: 26-November 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deep South

Posted 23 December 2009 - 04:34 PM

yea i knew that everything is is right in that dept.
changed the code a bit...
	<td><select name="realm" type="select" style="width:100%">
			<option value=''>--select realm--</option>
	<?
	//placeholder for realm function
	$sql = new sql();
	$sql->wconnect();
		
	$rquery = "SELECT id, name FROM realmlist";
	$rresult = mysql_query($rquery);
	
	if (!$rresult) {
		$message  = mysql_error();
		error_reporting('E_NONE');
		echo $message;
	}

	while ($rrow = mysql_fetch_assoc($rresult)) {
	
		$routput = "<option value='."$rrow['id']".'>."$rrow['name']".</option>";
		echo $routput;

	}
	?>
	</td>

now in the form it shows ."$rrow['name']". as a option instead of showing whats in the db
Projects



Current retail Characters:
Realm Class Name Level
The Forgotten Coast - Druid - Jeeroy - 80
Senjin - Warlock - Maruderenn - 72

#4 User is offline   this_is_junk 

  • Retired Retard
  • Group: Contributor
  • Posts: 2,432
  • Joined: 08-October 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Washington State

Posted 23 December 2009 - 04:40 PM

You need to remember the order for concatenation. "XXX".$variable."YYY"
$routput = "<option value='".$rrow['id']."'>".$rrow['name']."</option>";

GAH!!! >_< ...can't...just...stop...working...
0

#5 User is offline   Furt 

  • Member
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: 26-November 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deep South

Posted 23 December 2009 - 04:46 PM

yea i tried that first and it still didnt work so i thought i had it wrong.
heres a SS Posted Image
Projects



Current retail Characters:
Realm Class Name Level
The Forgotten Coast - Druid - Jeeroy - 80
Senjin - Warlock - Maruderenn - 72

#6 User is offline   this_is_junk 

  • Retired Retard
  • Group: Contributor
  • Posts: 2,432
  • Joined: 08-October 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Washington State

Posted 23 December 2009 - 04:49 PM

What does you copy of that line look like, atm?
GAH!!! >_< ...can't...just...stop...working...
0

#7 User is offline   Furt 

  • Member
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: 26-November 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deep South

Posted 23 December 2009 - 04:50 PM

$routput = "<option value='".$rrow['id']."'>".$rrow['name']."</option>";

Projects



Current retail Characters:
Realm Class Name Level
The Forgotten Coast - Druid - Jeeroy - 80
Senjin - Warlock - Maruderenn - 72

#8 User is offline   this_is_junk 

  • Retired Retard
  • Group: Contributor
  • Posts: 2,432
  • Joined: 08-October 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Washington State

Posted 23 December 2009 - 04:57 PM

Well, as it stands, that line is good. You should be closing the <select ...> though. :D
GAH!!! >_< ...can't...just...stop...working...
0

#9 User is offline   Furt 

  • Member
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: 26-November 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deep South

Posted 23 December 2009 - 05:09 PM

aaahh omg its always the simplest thing

line 6 in code in first post... <?

forgot to add php....
Projects



Current retail Characters:
Realm Class Name Level
The Forgotten Coast - Druid - Jeeroy - 80
Senjin - Warlock - Maruderenn - 72

#10 User is offline   this_is_junk 

  • Retired Retard
  • Group: Contributor
  • Posts: 2,432
  • Joined: 08-October 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Washington State

Posted 23 December 2009 - 05:10 PM

:D
GAH!!! >_< ...can't...just...stop...working...
0

#11 User is offline   Furt 

  • Member
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: 26-November 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deep South

Posted 23 December 2009 - 05:13 PM

but thanks for pointing out things i missed in other parts of it :D
Projects



Current retail Characters:
Realm Class Name Level
The Forgotten Coast - Druid - Jeeroy - 80
Senjin - Warlock - Maruderenn - 72

#12 User is offline   this_is_junk 

  • Retired Retard
  • Group: Contributor
  • Posts: 2,432
  • Joined: 08-October 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Washington State

Posted 23 December 2009 - 05:15 PM

No problem.
GAH!!! >_< ...can't...just...stop...working...
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users